6th Ji.hlava International
Documentary Film Festival

October 25 – 28, 2002

The festival was opened by Bowling for Columbine directed by the American filmmaker Michael Moore. The award for the best Czech documentary film was designed by Czech visual artist and member of Tvrdohlaví art group Petr Nikl. The award in the form of a funnel went to Karel Vachek for his film Who Will Watch the Watchdogs. The Contribution to World Cinema Award went to the “godfather of American film avant-garde”, Latvian-born Jonas Mekas. The Audience Award of the most significant film event of the fall went to Jana Ševčíková for The Rise of the Spring.


Get the history of the festival on 20 postcards
in our e-shop!